Recent Book Covers

Ah my long neglected blog.  Been so busy designing book covers I haven’t had time to put them on my blog! I have really enjoyed doing these – I am very comfortable working to this format.

The first is ‘Into The Woods’ – an anthology of writings published by AppleTree Writers (twitter: @apltreewriters)  for the CoastWord Festival (twitter: @CoastWordFest). I took my previous sketches of Lochend Woods and scanned them in and manipulated them in Photoshop.

IntoTheWoods_web

 

Next I was honoured to be asked by super talented poet Sheree Mack (twitter: @SheSheMack) to design a cover for her limited edition publication ‘Borrowed Light’.  The work in this cover was mainly in the decision about colour and the text.  It has a strong graphic feel which I like and strong colours which appealed to Sheree’s aesthetics too.  The petrol/denim blues for the seas and rocks and the lime green for sand give it a kind of retro feel. I think!

BorrowedLight_Web

And finally the cover for Speak! Another anthology to be published by Appletree Writers.  The writings are inspired by the idea of speaking in and speaking out and so I thought of using the image of a megaphone and Rodin’s the thinker.  I wanted the cover to be loud so I chose a huge font size for the title and capital letters and I chose bright attention grabbing colours which clash a bit, but in a good way.  The clashing between speaking in and speaking out perhaps?  Anyway, here it is.

Speak_web

The last two book colours have included no sketching or hand drawn element at all and I am missing that relationship with the work.  I am going to work on my sketching now and maybe try a bit of painting of printing so I can keep developing my style.

Thanks for reading!

x

 

One comment

  1. Hi Kate,
    I love all the designs,what a busy bee you are!
    Love Wendy x

Leave a Reply

