Children’s designs

Not had much chance to do surface pattern lately, what with half term and the dreaded norovirus – Urgh.  Anyway, when I did finally find a minute or two I thought I’d try some designs for children’s bedrooms/playrooms.  I’m always drawn to cool designs for kids cause lets face it you still want your kids rooms and playrooms to fit your style don’t you?  I mean, I do love my children dearly but never ever will I allow a poster of IgglePiggle or will I say yes to a Disney Princess duvet cover…  Cruel? Perhaps.

Using Photoshop and Illustrator I have begun to put together some A-Z designs.  I’ve used some of my previous patterns as backgrounds or fills, which I have really really enjoyed doing.  Originally I’d thought of these as a simple wall frieze but friends have suggested oil cloths, poster prints, individual letter cards and prints so who knows!

A-is-for-Apple_WEB

B-is-for-Ball_WEB

C-is-for-Car_WEB

Q-is-for-Queen_Green2_WEB

R-for-Rabbit_WEB

U-is-for-Umbrella_WEB

 

 

Lots to work on here.  Do I keep lots of pink in and hope they will sell for boys and girls or should I reduce amount of pink, maybe changing to red and orange in places?  I could do two colour schemes and perhaps with different objects?…hmmm. Do I use a capital letter for each A-Z or keep it lower case as in ‘rabbit’.  Lots to think about but it’s great fun playing around with it all.

 

 

Leave a Reply

