Getting to grips with Illustrator

So, I have been trying to get to grips with Illustrator and tearing my hair out because I haven’t been able to make it do ANYTHING at all when suddenly I remember a book bought for me last Christmas, Digital Textile Design by Melanie Bowls and Ceri Isaac.  There are loads of tutorials to help you get to grips with the digital side of design.  And in it are two golden nuggets of information that make me laugh out loud and skip around the room.  Two of the most time saving tips I could ever have hoped for…For example, did you know you could turn a motif into a pattern in seconds in Photoshop? Just open up your motif, go to  Edit and ‘Define Pattern’, give it a name and then open up a new document and fill it with your custom made pattern from the drop down menu.  WOW.  Again, probably really bloody obvious to every designer out there but again I am filled with sheer joy.  Ha!  I have also been learning how to draw simple flower motifs in Illustrator.    Here are some results.

Red and Pink Flower on White.

Red and Pink Flower on White.

Red and Pink Flower on Red

Red and Pink Flower on Red

Red and Pink Flower with Blue spots

Red and Pink Flower with Blue spots

Red and Pink Flowers with Blue dots 2

Red and Pink Flowers with Blue dots 2

Red and Pink Flower on..you guessed it...Blue.

Red and Pink Flower on..you guessed it…Blue.

Blue and Olive Flower Basic Repeat

Blue and Olive Flower Basic Repeat

Blue and Olive Flower Half Drop

Blue and Olive Flower Half Drop

Module 2 of Rachael Taylor’s The Art and Business of Surface Pattern Design started last Monday and I so wish I was ready enough to have embarked on it.  Good luck everyone! I will be looking out for your work on Twitter #ABSPD.  Follow me @katec1976

I will be doing Module 2 in August.  Can not wait.  But in the meantime I will keep experimenting away and see where my enjoyment and strengths lie.  Thinking about doing some prints for Children’s Rooms and I have an idea with an illustration of a street I did recently.

Night All…

Leave a Reply

